UBC Okanagan professor recognized for tireless support of students

Mina Hoorfar

Mina Hoorfar, PEng, a professor in UBC Okanagan’s School of Engineering, has received the 2017 Teaching Award of Excellence in Engineering Education from Engineers and Geoscientists British Columbia, the association that regulates and governs the engineering and geoscience professions in BC.


Hoorfar, who is also the director of the School of Engineering, was recognized for her “dedication to teaching, commitment to students, and contributions to research and innovation.” She has developed numerous new courses, helped students secure funding and establish industry connections, and devoted considerable time to communicating the value of an engineering education to younger students, especially female ones, in schools both locally and internationally.


Among Hoorfar’s previous teaching awards at UBC include the Pioneer Award for Teaching in 2007, the Mechanical Engineering Teacher of the Year Award in 2012 and 2013 and the Teaching Excellence and Innovation Award in 2014 and 2017.


Hoorfar has also excelled on the research side. Named UBC Okanagan’s Researcher of the Year in 2016, and currently the head of the Advanced Thermo-Fluidic Laboratory, she has established multidisciplinary research programs that have allowed students to contribute to advancements in areas such as biosensors, biomedical applications and wastewater treatment and energy capture. Since 2007, Hoorfar has helped bring over $3.5 million in research funding to UBC Okanagan.


Each year, Engineers and Geoscientists BC’s President’s Awards seek to “recognize excellence in professional, technical, and community service” by its members. Hoorfar and seven others received their awards at a gala on Friday, October 20.



More information about the Engineers and Geoscientists BC’s President’s Awards: https://www.egbc.ca/News/Articles/Top-Honours-for-2017-President-s-Awards-Recipients