Meet Alexander Harmsen, B.A.Sc. '16, Engineering Physics

What has made your time at UBC the most memorable?

Being one of the first people on UBC Orbit, a Satellite Design team, joining the UBC Cryogenics and Life Extension Club, going on exchange to the Indian Institute of Technology in Delhi, traveling across the country with a drone strapped to our van, starting up UBC Unmanned Aircraft Systems and being President of Engineers Without Borders. But, most of all, just getting to meet so many other awesome people and making so many memories!

Why did you choose Engineering?

Read more

2019 Gairdner Awards: Winners hailed for discoveries on DNA replication and power of stem cells to fight cancer

A similar article appeared in the National PostVancouver Sun and Edmonton Journal.

Read more

Fast-talking UBC Okanagan students to compete for $6,000

Read more

APSC profs receive UBC Faculty Research Awards

Three APSC professors have received UBC Faculty Research Awards in recognition of their exceptional research work.

The Killam Research Prize was awarded to Karthik Pattabiraman, a professor of electrical and computer engineering, for his outstanding research and scholarly contributions in the field of computer and software systems.

Read more

Search engine-enhancing research from UBC and Microsoft wins best paper award

Rabab Ward, a professor of electrical and computer engineering at UBC, has received a 2018 Best Paper Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Signal Processing Society. She shares the honour with her co-authors at Microsoft Research, including Hamid Palangi, her former doctoral student and the paper’s lead author.

Read more

Emeritus APSC prof receives top engineering award

W.D. Liam Finn, professor emeritus in the UBC Department of Civil Engineering, has received the George W. Housner Medal from the Earthquake Engineering Research Institute (EERI).

Considered the EERI’s most prestigious award, the medal is granted to one individual, if any, each year and only upon the unanimous vote of the Institute’s Board of Directors. It aims to recognize those “who have made extraordinary and lasting contributions to public earthquake safety through the development and application of earthquake hazard reduction practices and policies.”

Read more

Engineering profs receive alumni UBC Achievement Awards

Three members of the APSC community — mechanical engineering professor Nemkumar Banthia; electrical and computer engineering professor emeritus Charles Laszlo; and electrical and computer engineering adjunct professor James McEwen — have received alumni UBC Achievement Awards.

Read more

APSC team receives award for innovative safety leadership

The APSC Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee (JOHSC) received the Innovative Safety Leadership award at this year’s UBC Safety Day, which took place on October 3, 2018, in the UBC Student Nest’s Great Hall.

The team was recognized for being proactive, embarking on new initiatives that enhance safety culture and inspiring others in their area to share similar values towards safety.

Read more

Engineering students place second in design challenge

On October 3, Universities Canada announced the winners of this year’s Innovative Design for Accessibility (IDeA) challenge, which includes a group of UBC engineering students who developed a grip assistive device for quadriplegic athletes. As part of the UBC Engineers in Scrubs (EiS) program, the team: Carly Jones; Jeanie Malone; Taylor Molde and Avineet Randhawa (all master's students in the UBC School of Biomedical Engineering), has developed a grip assistive device targeted at quadriplegic tennis players.

Read more

Legacy of BC’s First Nobel Laureate Lives On Celebrating the 25th anniversary of Michael Smith’s Nobel Prize

Vancouver, BC — This October, organizations from across British Columbia’s scientific research community are celebrating the powerful legacy of Dr. Michael Smith, the province’s first Nobel Laureate, as we mark the 25th anniversary of his Nobel Prize. Smith’s impact and foundational work in genomics inspired many and helped propel our province to international prominence as a world leader in genomics research.

Read more